MINUTES OF A REGULAR MEETING OF THE BOARD OF VISITORS OF VIRGINIA COMMONWEALTH UNIVERSITY July 27, 1995

A regular meeting of the Board of Visitors of Virginia Commonwealth University was held on Thursday, July 27, 1995, at 9 a.m. in the University Meeting Center.

Present were Messrs. Siegel (Rector), DeRusha, Flippen, Framme, Markel and Weinberg; Drs. Johnson, Smith, Vaughan, White and Wootton; and Mesdames Powell and Teig. Dr. Gilmer, Mr. Townes and Ms. Vaughan were absent. Also present were Drs. Trani, Dewey, Harris, Jones and Rhone; Messrs. Bunce, Gehring, Ross and Wyeth; and Mesdames Burnside, Messmer, Mikuta and Price.

Mr. Siegel called the meeting to order and welcomed members of the

press and new board members Messrs. DeRusha and Markel; Ms. Powell; and

Dr. White.

The report of the President followed:

The President reported on - Where VCU was going? An update was given on administrative and faculty positions. Also, 134 faculty members have applied for the Work Transition Act.

Long range planning and external evaluation such as the SACS report, the Mass Communications six-year accreditation and Pharmacy reaccrediation were announced.

The School of Engineering is going very well and interviewing of faculty members is underway. The Jacob House is being moved and fund-raising needs to reach \$17 M. The School of Engineering played a significant role in the recruitment of Motorola.

Biotech III plans are underway with two buildings reaching completion.

Private fund-raising is up to \$25.3M, an increase from the previous year of \$24.6M.

Real Estate and other facilities are progressing. The Medical Sciences Building will open in February-March of 1996; the Ambulatory Care has opened with the Siegel Center, the Fine Arts Center and the Parking Deck on schedule.

VCU is doing well in community and governmental relations with Richmond, Henrico, Chesterfield and Hanover donating a total of \$2M for the School of Engineering.

The report of the Rector followed:

Mr. Siegel announced the committee assignments and thanked Board members for future cooperation and involvement. Also, a schedule for the 1995-96 Board and Committee meetings was presented.

Mr. Framme reported for the Nominating Committee for Officers and the

Executive Committee that consisted of Messrs. Framme and Siegel and Dr.

Gilmer. The Committee recommended the following slate: Harry I. Johnson, Jr.,

Vice Rector; Clarence L. Townes, Jr., Secretary; and Eva S. Teig and Jay M.

Weinberg, members-at-large. On motion made and seconded, the slate of

officers were elected.

On motion made and seconded, the Board convened into executive session to discuss certain personnel matters involving the performance of identifiable employees or faculty of VCU, and to discuss the evaluation of performance of departments or schools of VCU where such matters regarding such individuals might be affected by such evaluation; to discuss legal matters and probable litigation with its attorney; and to discuss the condition, acquisition or use of real property for public purpose, or of the disposition of publicly held

2

property, or of plans for the future of a state institution of higher education which

could affect the value of property owned or desirable for ownership by such

institution as authorized by Section 2.1-344 a(1), a(3) and a(7) of the Virginia

Freedom of Information Act.

Following executive session, on motion made and seconded, the following

Resolution was approved by Roll Call Vote:

Virginia Commonwealth University hereby certifies that, to the best of each member's knowledge, (i) only public business matters lawfully exempted from open meeting requirements by Virginia law were discussed in the executive session meeting to which this certification resolution applies, and (ii) only such public business matters as were identified in the motion convening the executive session meeting were heard, discussed, or considered by the Board of Visitors of Virginia Commonwealth University.

Roll Call Vote	Ayes Nays
Mr. Stuart C. Siegel, Rector	X
Mr. William C. DeRusha	X
Mr. Edward L. Flippen	X
Mr. Lawrence H. Framme, III	X
Dr. Robert D. Gilmer	Absent
Dr. Harry I. Johnson, Jr.	X
Mr. Steven A. Markel	X
Ms. Diane Linen Powell	Absence from meeting during voting
Dr. Lindley T. Smith	X
Ms. Eva S. Teig	X
Mr. Clarence L. Townes, Jr.	Absent
Dr. David A. Vaughan	X
Ms. Sandra M. Adair Vaughan	Absent
Mr. Jay M. Weinberg	X
Dr. H. George White, Jr.	X
Dr. Percy Wootton	X

Vote:

Ayes: 12 Nays: 0

ABSENT DURING MEETING: 3 ABSENT DURING VOTING: 4

On motion made and seconded, the Board approved the Faculty Appointments and Changes in Status and other personnel actions and the Promotion and Tenure recommendations.

The meeting was adjourned at 11:25 a.m.

Clarence L. Townes, Jr., Secretary

Stuart C. Siegel, Rector